Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
Send Topic Print
Update: new clutch installed, fixed (Read 948 times)
Kizale
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Update: new clutch installed, fixed
08/23/13 at 20:58:10

Hello, newbie here looking for some help.  I've been lurking on the site for a month or so doing research and ended up with an 03 savage 2 weeks ago as a first bike. I did some searching and could not much on my type of problem. I'll start with the history since it seems to be the first thing most ask when trying to help. It's an 03 3900 miles. First owner put most of the Milan's on then let it sit for a couple years. It was then purchased by a retired guy who buys and fixes bikes to flip them. He put in a battery, cleaned the Carb and got it running. He put about 60 miles on Inc delivering  it to me and sold it. Since I had it I did a couple cosmetic things changed the oil/filter and air. I put it back together ran it about 25 miles went it quit on me. Ran great till I pulled from a stop light and it stalled a couple times when tring to take off, then all forward progress stopped. I had to tow it home. Engine runs fine, I can let the clutch out in gearand nothing like it's still in n. It shifts through the gears fine and the tension on the lever feels normal. The I used was Suzuki 4cycle I got from the dealer with the filters. Since the problem I changed the oil again with Mobil 1 v twin, old stuff mil key and nasty already also played the clutch adjustments and it made no diff. Checked the belts and pulleys on the other side and they looked OK. Tomorrow I'm going to pull the clutch cover off but I don't really know what I'm looking for. I can't believe the clutch plates would be smoked already, I hear they can take some abuse. I can upload pictures after I open up the case. Any help would be realty appreciated. I'm pretty bummed about getiing the bike and having it break first time out. I'll be around the forum