Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Just Jerry saying thanks (Read 108 times)
gerald.hughes
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

FSO

Tucson, Az
Just Jerry saying thanks
08/18/13 at 21:32:47

Well, it has been a month since the accident, and I am home doing the rehab and healing thing.  I think that I have three or four months of this ahead of me.

I want to thank everyone on the site for the good wishes, prayers, and support. It is warming to know that I am part of such a great group of people.

I have been riding for 53 years, and have logged 15-20K miles a year, so that is somewhere between 800K and a million miles of riding experience.  After giving it many hours of thought, I cannot figure out what happened.  It was totally out of my experience.  I have had front tires blow, brakes lock up, potholes, objects, including animals in the road, but they always throw the bike forward.  In this case, the front end went out sideways, to the right.  The worst part is that I cannot think of anything that I could do to reduce the chance that it would happen again.  Thus the decision to get a trike.  This was something that i had considered when I had my hip replacement, but now it seems the only way for me to continue riding.

I cannot say that having an accident is something to look forward to, but I think that mine has done me good.  I am 67, retired, and had settled into a comfortable routine.  Like many aging people, I had come to spend a goodly amount of my attention on my physical problems (Heart attacks, a stroke, diabetes, bum hip) and was unhappy with my general condition and what i had to look forward to.