Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie here-need some advice (Read 95 times)
ronpozoromo
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Newbie here-need some advice
07/23/13 at 12:01:48

Hi Y'all!  I am currently looking at buying a 2009 S40 after not riding motorcycles for over 30 years-I'm 58 years old.  I used to ride dual purpose on/off road bikes in my distant youth.   I have sat on many street bikes and to be honest with you they are so big and heavy nowadays.  I sat on the S40 and it just felt right.  I'm a big guy-6'2" 275 lbs. but my inseam is only 30" so I didn't feel cramped at all-I may look like a gorilla on a tricycle but I don't care.  I probably won't do that much interstate riding and I think the torque of the S40 will be more than enough.  The bike I'm looking at only has 2000 miles and except for the backfiring and exhaust bluing, looks and rides new.  Will taking the plug out of the carburetor mixture screw and enriching it be enough to stop both, or will I need to take the carburetor apart and mess with slide and jets?  Would you suggest better rear shocks for someone my size?  Thanks for your help!

IP Logged
WD
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Professional
"scooter
trash".

Rosemark TN
Re: Newbie here-need some advice
Reply #1 - 07/23/13 at 12:15:40

Shocks are easy, Progressive brand, order heavy duty springs. If you want stiffer and the rear raised a couple inches to improve the ride and handling, order ones for a VS800 Intruder.

2009 had drag bars stock, right? Plan to change them out, they are okay in town but absolutely miserable for any real riding. You're going to want higher and/or wider.