Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Visionary speaks: Unbuntu Edge (phone/computer) (Read 235 times)
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: Visionary speaks: Unbuntu Edge (phone/computer
Reply #15 - 07/27/13 at 12:03:07

My linux box has required one (1) reboot because a game locked up.   I've been running Mint on that machine since what, May 2010 and I can count the times I've actually had a lock up of Mint on my left pinky finger.

During this time I have had to fix my wife's three laptops (four now, I forgot the one I refurbed for my own use at work) multiple multiple multiple times each.  She gets something, screws up a machine, goes to the next one and inside a week she's got whatever it is crapping up that one.   She has to bring the sick ones home before she carries out the final spare -- this gives me a night or so to fix one before the one she is using craps up.    Universities and students catch every viral germ that exists and they give to the teach right along with their papers and presentations when they turn them in electronically.

I've got 1 XP, 1 Vista and 2 Win7 machines.   The very oldest is the white box, a HP Pavilion desktop that was bought back when XP was pre-service patch and it was built using the very first 1ghz AMD 64 bit Athlon chipset that ever came out.   It was put in a closet finally because the CD and hard drives quit working right ...... the issue was really MicroChoke getting twisted up by a root kit because the same drives all work fine now running on Linux.   It amuses me because windows diagnostic programs from MS and from the drive vendor all said the hard drive was toast .... unrecoverable file errors, surface damage, bad heads.  Linux said, go there do that -- and it did.  Linux saw bad sector, blanked it out.   The bad head was apparently still able to read and write, so it does.