Send Topic Print
HELP! (Read 132 times)
stinger
Serious Thumper

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

HELP!
06/09/13 at 00:38:22

I am no mechanic but I have always tried to make repairs and diagnosis my bikes little quirks when needed. I also use the search option when I can but I am stumped. Maybe someone can give me a little advice. I hope I haven't damaged my rectifier or coil. My bike would crank over and over but would not start. I hooked up a battery charger and tried again and it cranked  and cranked,and then nothing. I have lights and all turn signals are working but nothing when it comes to the engine turning over. It wont even crank now. What should I check? Could I have burned out the rectifier or the coil by using the charger? Why would I have lights but when i try and start it nothing happens?

IP Logged
scannerzer
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

northern ireland
Re: HELP!
Reply #1 - 06/09/13 at 03:21:35

did you check the 2 fuses under the seat?

1990 ls 650 Met red,4speed
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 06/09/13 at 03:26:29

First thing to do is get your battery checked... Take it to someplace like Batteries Plus and they will test it...
How old is the battery?...

When they get old,... they will do everything except make spark.. lights will work, engine will crank, but but no start...
Also, check that the cables are snug... including ground strap

Mine's currently doing the same thing...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Reply #3 - 06/09/13 at 08:53:11

If the lites look good while cranking, and the cranking speed sounds good, I really wouldn't suspect the battery.

What makes you think its lack of spark ??? Or did I miss something about it having plenty of fuel ?

on edit.......I did miss the part about "it won't even crank now"
Like said, start at the battery !

Rich