Short in high beams! (Read 65 times)
spud14
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Short in high beams!
06/05/13 at 19:17:03

I have a '99 Savage--

I am from Nampa, Idaho but currently live in Provo, Utah for college. I rode dirtbikes and quads while growing up but mostly just trails and we used the quads for hunting. I never had to worry about fixing things cause my grandpa was a small engine tech teacher at my high school for 30 years. Any time there was an issue we let him take care of it and I was an idiot and never took his class!

SO I am admittedly a newb, but since I got my savage I haven't taken it to the shop once and I've fixed everything myself.

The reason for my post is I have a short in the headlights. When I flip on the high beams a fuse shorts out every time and the power for the bike turns off. If I replace the fuse and leave on the high beams, turning the key to "on" will short blow the fuse immediately.

The long story associated with it all...

I am a newb like I mentioned earlier so last year when I decided I wanted a bike I searched long and hard to find something that was well maintained and reliable so that I would have an easier time. That is exactly what I found in Savage and I couldn't be happier.

I was happy until some tard hit my bike while I was at work and it tipped over. Luckily I was watching when the dude pulled into my spot and hit my bike. He stopped and I ran out pissed to asses the damage. It fell on its right side. The throttle handle was all busted up as well as the rear tail light being busted. I was advised by my boss to start it up and make sure it runs before the guy left to make sure everything was good. It started fine, I rode it for a minute or two parked it and got a couple hundred bucks from the guy that hit it for the busted handle and tail light. BAD IDEA! I am from ID and he was just in town from Canada so I didn't know if getting his insurance and info would do me any good since he was foreign.