Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Petcock Valve Left in Prime (Read 155 times)
attiii
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Washington, DC
Petcock Valve Left in Prime
05/23/13 at 17:47:08

I came down to our parking garage (I live in a large apartment complex) to discover that someone had been messing with my bike, including moving petcock valve to the prime position.  It's possible it has been in this position for as many as 3 days-  is my bike safe to start?  The owners manual suggests not...so I am curious what the best course of action is.

Thanks for helping a total newb!

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Petcock Valve Left in Prime
Reply #1 - 05/23/13 at 18:30:08

It's fine... (just check that they didn't steal your gas)...(PRIME is the position a gas thief would use to drain your tank)...
...put it back to ON, and go...
Wink...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
Digger
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Ya gotta be tough to
ride singles!

Colorado Springs, CO
Reply #2 - 05/23/13 at 19:37:12

attiii wrote on 05/23/13 at 17:47:08:
....is my bike safe to start?...

I'd check the oil level first, on the off chance that you've got a leaky needle valve.

If the oil level is where you left it, start 'er up and go for a scream....

Digger
2001, Metallic Glacial Blue, Raptor Petcock, Verslavy (first hole) (otherwise, mechanically, the bike is stock), 13,xxx miles
I don't own a cage.
www.astronautbiker.com
WWW   IP Logged
attiii
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Washington, DC
Reply #3 - 05/24/13 at 08:19:06

Thanks for the info!  Relieved to know it's not as bad as the manual makes it out to be! Gas thievery-  hadn't even thought about that, but thankfully, it still remains!

I still have the original petcock on my savage-  from what I've read here I should change it out for the Yamaha Raptor?

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad