Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
need riding tips for my savage (Read 260 times)
scotland66
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Austria
need riding tips for my savage
05/08/13 at 12:20:49

Hi, as of yesterday im a proud owner of a savage 650. Im new to biking and have been knocking about on a suzuki marauder 125 for the last couple of months.
So took out my savage for the first time today! But it don't have the stock handlebars it has really wide dragbars.  Must say they look amazing!  But I almost missed a few corners verging on to the opposite side of the road! Are these handlebars easy to get used to or are they always gonna be more difficult to steer. Any advice is appreciated!

IP Logged
gdrseeker

Addicted!!

Carson Valley NV
Re: need riding tips for my savage
Reply #1 - 05/08/13 at 12:36:07

Are you cornering at high speed or low speed?  Are you familiar with counter steering?  You should be breaking (slowing down) in a straight line before the turn, then lean and counter steer if you are at a speed above say 15 MPH.  You should be leaning into the turn and accelerating through the middle of the turn continuing ot accelerate and at reaching your proper speed as you exit the turn.

1996 Savage, Jardine, K&N, 145 / 55 jets, 1 turn out at 5000 ft. elevation.
  IP Logged
Coaxial

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reply #2 - 05/08/13 at 12:49:31

And try not to brake while in the turn... it upsets the bike.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVWNinsmkAw

Twist of the wrist!

2007 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Black. K&N Air Filter, Jardine Rumbler Exhaust, Raptor Petcock.

145 Main Jet, 45 Pilot Jet, 1.5x
  IP Logged
scotland66
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Austria
Reply #3 - 05/08/13 at 12:54:54

Actually it was at low speed, I think its just a case of getting used to these handlebars. Think I need to get the confidence to throw it around like I did with my little marauder Roll Eyes