Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sissy bar taller?? (Read 139 times)
B.J. and Jo

Colorado Springs, CO.
Sissy bar taller??
04/18/13 at 16:52:39

Noob here, is there anyway to make the stock sissy bar and pad taller? I thought I saw a "second set of holes" in the sissy bar, I noticed the bar attaches to the bottom of the side rails by short allen bolts. Wondered if I used, Longer Allen Bolts if I could raise the "height" of the sissy bar a couple of inches?  Thanks for any clue, it's appreciated.  Smiley

IP Logged
old_rider
Serious Thumper

Backyard Bill
Productions

flordia panhandle
Re: Sissy bar taller??
Reply #1 - 04/18/13 at 17:48:33

I was thinkin' the same thing. The wife wants to give her sister a ride and doesn't trust the low hieght of the sissy bar. So I am going to lowe's and buy some 3/4" Square stock and bend it myself to make a higher one. Don't know if it will work, but we shall see.

We are here to laugh at the odds and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us.
  IP Logged
RidgeRunner13
Serious Thumper

haulin' the
groceries!

Mustang Island, Texas
Reply #2 - 04/18/13 at 18:16:58

I just installed the pad I took off of my 950. Just had to drill 2 new holes to mount it & it sticks up quite a bit higher. You may not have to raise the bar unless you want a really tall one. Cool

Wind me up & watch me run, I ain't never had too much fun!
  IP Logged
B.J. and Jo

Colorado Springs, CO.
Reply #3 - 04/19/13 at 08:26:04

RidgeRunner13 wrote on 04/18/13 at 18:16:58:
I just installed the pad I took off of my 950. Just had to drill 2 new holes to mount it & it sticks up quite a bit higher. You may not have to raise the bar unless you want a really tall one. Cool

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n94/Pappygt13/FILE0538_zpsf540689f.jpg