Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Valve Noise Normal? (Read 305 times)
wheelsoffreedom76
YaBB Newbies

Kansas
Valve Noise Normal?
03/23/13 at 15:16:44

checked and adjusted the valves on my recently aquired S40 as at full operating temperature I could hear them pretty well. Upon inspection the intake was just shy of being able to fit my .004" (the smallest I have) in there, but there is some clearance as I can move the rocker just a hair so I'm thinking the intakes are probably at .003". The exhaust was at .008" so I set them to .004". There is plenty of oil making it to the top end. I buttoned it up and rode around awhile, and the valve noise was much, much quieter. However, at full temperature the exhaust valves can still be heard. I'm running Rotella 15w40 oil, and the temperature outside has been in the 40's and 50's when I have been riding. The exhaust header is light gold for the first 8" or so, but no blue anywhere. I am a mechanic by trade, and have worked on everything but motorcycles until this one. To my ear, it still seems to tap too much but maybe it's normal. While I had it apart, I applied light pressure upward on the rocker assembly with one finger, and tapped another finger downward on the other side of the rocker assembly and it made that signature tap when the adjuster bolts contacted the valve stems. That was at .008" before I adjusted them, so I know that is where the noise is originating. My next step is to get either a master set of feeler gauges that includes .002" and .003" or maybe the motion pro angled gauge in .002-.003" and set the exhaust again (though that is awlful tight on exhaust valves for my taste), and or find a suitable 20w50 wet clutch oil, or even 60 weight. I know they are getting lubed well, as I've pulled the covers twice and each time, there is oil between the adjuster bolts, and the valve stems, and no visible wear to the valve stems or adjuster bolts. Am I nitpicking this thing? Or do you guys run .002-.003 and heavier oil? O