next bike after Savage (Read 739 times)
Steampowered Boy
YaBB Newbies

Deny me and be
Doomed!!

Glendale, CA
next bike after Savage
03/18/13 at 19:17:51

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I couldn't find it; what would you people in the know suggest for a next bike purchase?

I've been riding off and on for 35 years, took a 10 year hiatus then bought an S40 about a year ago because i wanted to refresh my skills on a smaller more forgiving bike.  

Now that I'm feeling fairly confident about my riding skills, I'm looking at an "upgrade".  I am not opposed to any manufacturer nor do I have any kind of 'brand loyalty' that would cause me to choose one over the other; i just want to find a nice, decently powered cruiser that could handle 300 miles a day comfortably.

Since I haven't really ridden anything other than the S40 and a early 90s Virago in the past 20 years, I figured I would appeal to the knowledge of the forum.

thank you in advance for any suggestions.

How other people treat you is their dharma; how you react is yours.
zombiematic digtldecay   IP Logged
oldsavage
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

panhandle of florida
Re: next bike after Savage
Reply #1 - 03/18/13 at 19:51:33

Honda 1300 or 1800, very 'travel' adaptable (bags/rack and seats) and forgiving because of the shaft drive. I had one and enjoyed it, rode from florida to illinois without much problem, only thing is I was always reaching for sixth gear.
Low center of gravity so you can flat foot it even me at 5'10" comfortably. And they don't cost an arm and a leg like my HD RoadGlide...LOL Shocked

2002 Suzuki LS650 Savage
2007 Honda 250 Rebel
2007 Harley Davidson RoadGlide
2013 Kawasaki 300 Ninja
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 03/18/13 at 21:38:53