Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Buying first bike what to look for!!! (Read 227 times)
diamond jim
Serious Thumper

North Alabama
Re: Buying first bike what to look for!!!
Reply #15 - 01/12/13 at 05:26:41

Glad it worked out for you.

You are never too old or too experienced to practice, especially with a new-to-you bike. I started riding 22 years ago. Strokes a few years ago then a blood clot in my spine that initially paralyzed my entire pelvic region and left leg (corrected most of that with emergency surgery with time and  returning me to 90%) derailed my riding. Got another bike recently. My brain knew what to do from years of riding. Didn't know if the body would fully cooperate. So I spent most of the first few weeks practicing all the maneuvers in a local school parking lot that I had learned at MSF classes and through experience.

You are never too good, too experienced to practiced.

To keep somewhat on topic, I've bought bikes that had a sticky throttle. Almost alsways turned out to be a fraying throttle cable.

IP Logged
Jerry
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #16 - 01/20/13 at 17:54:33

OK guys i have an update on the bike and a couple of questions. After about a week of haggling with this guy about the savage i bought it last night for $550 dollars. It was leaking oil, he didnt have the key to lock the front forks, the seats were dry and ripped due to sitting, and finally the exhaust was scratched badly due to him dropping it while backing it out of th garage.

So first question is how hard and expensive is it to get the key to lock the forks or do i just go up to a dealership?

Secondly does anybody on here have an extra seat that they would be willing to sell.

Thanks again for any imput gentlemen.

IP Logged
Blinky-FSO
Serious Thumper

Three Eyes Are
Better Than Two

Kentucky
Reply #17 - 01/20/13 at 18:18:36

Jerry,