Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Replacing rear sprocket (Read 118 times)
tarkm812
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Long Island
Replacing rear sprocket
10/21/12 at 22:59:26

I have a '87 that  I got 2 years ago and have yet to need to pull the rear tire.  It has a chip (looks like a bite) out of the sprocket outer flange and doesn't seem to interfere with the belt but I picked a sprocket up on ebay for $25. shipped so I intend to replace it.  Any roadblocks anticipated (locktighted bolts) or is it straight forward job? Any items I should take a look at while I'm in there? Thanks for any info.

IP Logged
mojohand40

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Replacing rear sprocket
Reply #1 - 10/22/12 at 06:55:17

I'm curious as to what others say, as I'm no expert.
But, I did take off the rear wheel and put it back on yesterday, so here's my advice from that:

1) Mark spacers and belt adjusters "right" or "left" with a sharpie marker before you take things apart.

2) While the tire is off,  Inspect your rear brake shoes. Better, yet just replace them while you have the wheel off. I would have replaced mine, but I didn't have new ones on hand, I SHOULD have ordered some in advance, local shop (a Honda-Suzuki-Kawasaki combined dealer) didn't have 'em in stock, I checked. So maybe order some before you yank the wheel. Might as well do it all at once. Also check your tread, now is a good time to take the wheel down to the dealer and get new rubber, usually the stealers charge less to mount a tire when it's off the bike already.

3) Putting things back is a pain. I dropped the belt guard and left shock, that helps to give you some room. If you can get somebody to help you, to hold things while you drive the axle back in, all the better. I did it on my lonesome with my dog watching.

lots'o' cussing'  and dropping spacers etc .....Until: