Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Intermittent throttle response and backfire (Read 129 times)
shugarsca
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Intermittent throttle response and backfire
09/24/12 at 03:54:05

Hey guys I'm riding... well was riding an 87' Savage that I bought about a year ago. I live at a high elevation about a 5500ft, and the bike was burning really rich as evident by really low mpg (about 30-35), a lot of carbon build up on the plug(s), and the stock air filter reeks of gas.
I also read somewhere on here that the mixture on old savages was pretty rich from the factory. I'm not sure if previous owners ever did any adjustments on the carb. Anyway I'm new to working on engines, so after reading many posts (apparently not enough) I decided I would take out the stock air intake box and install a K&N air filter. This install went really smooth and she ran great! for about an hr. I ran the gas tank down lower than normal stopped filled up with premium started back on the road and within about 5min I started getting no throttle response. The bike would hesitate and lunge forward like its wanting to stall out. It does this for about 30secs then seems to level off then starts right back. Every once in a while it will build up and backfire through the muffler.

I put a new spark plug in when I added the K&N filter, so I pulled the plug and it actually looks better than it ever has its light tan in color. I put another plug in and I'm getting the same problem. I replaced the in line fuel filter thinking that maybe it could be impeding the flow of gas if there was any sort of sediment, but that also did not help. Ive ran sea foam through the carb also no luck. I have a buddy that said maybe the coil was going back and I'm getting extra gas in the cylinder??? If thats the case can someone point me in the right direction for a new one? Or do I need to rejet the carb even though the plug looks good?