Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Fuel Starvation Symptom - All Speeds (Read 622 times)
WeWontBlink
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Amarillo, TX
Fuel Starvation Symptom - All Speeds
09/14/12 at 08:22:23

I got my first bike ('06 S40) a few months ago, and I've been lurking here ever since.  I have a problem I need to ask about.  I've got a fuel starvation symptom at all speeds, even idle.  It begins right away after the bike is started.  The bike can be ridden, but sometimes it dies, sometimes it doesn't.  But while riding it's like it is not getting enough fuel...through all the gears.  I've checked the fuel line, cleaned the air filter, and done the petcock test.  Those didn't help.  I thought for sure it would be a petcock issue after reading about all the trouble here.  
I'm an extreme newb mechanically but hoping to change that with this bike.  I need advice where to look next.  Thanks.

2006 LS650.
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Fuel Starvation Symptom - All Speeds
Reply #1 - 09/14/12 at 08:55:14

check the float level

attach a clear tube to the drain and flex it up beside the carb
open the drain and watch the fluid level come up
should stop at the bowl gasket with the bike verticle and the petcock to prime.

other possibles, clogged gas cap vent, spiders in carb bowl vent tubes.

WWW   IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Reply #2 - 09/14/12 at 10:48:49

WeWontBlink wrote on 09/14/12 at 08:22:23: