Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Replace Speedometer Glass (Read 111 times)
frizat
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Replace Speedometer Glass
09/10/12 at 13:59:17

Total beginner question.

I just recently purchased an 03 LS650 Savage.  The glass is broken over my speedometer.  I found a new len's and bezel here: http://www.jpcycles.com/product/5600002#reviews which is much cheaper than buying a new speedo.

Has anyone ever replaced their speedo glass? Or at the very least even know if it's possible to open the speedo glass w/out breaking it.

I'm open to any suggestions, I'm worried about rain getting into the broken glass and causing issues down the road.

Thanks!

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Replace Speedometer Glass
Reply #1 - 09/10/12 at 14:12:07

I suppose this would work.  The original is spun over - the factory puts in a seal, the glass then the metal trim and it is spun and shrunk over the backside to get it sealed.  You will have to cut that metal off somehow.  The link you listed is for a Harley speedo.....not for sure it will fit the Savage.

You may be able to get a speedometer shop to spin the metal back on for you.....but one fellow that bought that kit just siliconed his back together.  Not sure if that would work on the Savage - as the back of the speedometer sits on a rubber or plastic piece.

You could probably get a used speedometer pretty cheap......just send a message to the guys parting out bikes in the Classified Section.  I bought a speedometer off eBay for $ 10 and $ 10 shipping for a joke.  I put in on my very clean low mileage bike....and the speedometer now has 40,000 miles on it! Grin

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
frizat
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 09/10/12 at 14:26:42

Awesome, i'll check out the classifieds, thanks for the quick reply!

IP Logged
verslagen1