Oil changing question (Read 979 times)
John C
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Covington,TN (near Memphis)
Oil changing question
09/06/12 at 09:03:35

I've seen various topics and must admit to being a bit overwhelmed. Here's the basic question. I've got oil filters and am due for a change in about two weeks. I have a wally work, o'reilly's and auto-zone near me. I have an 07 thumper (I call her suzie q) with 10,750 miles on it. I honestly don't remember what I bought last time in the way of oil, so here's my question. I've seen "ZDDP" tossed out a bunch and want to know simply this: When I go to change my oil next, do I buy just oil (and if so,does where I live make a difference), or do I buy stuff with ZDDP in it or needing to be added to it.

Obviously, I'm a straight up noob. No problems in admitting it. Just wanting to learn and tinker on the weekends with a great bike.

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Oil changing question
Reply #1 - 09/06/12 at 09:10:18

Not meaning to start an oil war, but... the simple, no worry answer is, get a gallon of Shell Rotella T... from Wallyworld..
It may or may not be the greatest oil ever, but has ZDDP and is used by many bikers, and is reasonably priced...
15w-40... is good... not 10w-30...(somebody said 10w-30 isn't motorcycle rated)...
Huh...

.. or get T6 if you want synth...

« Last Edit: 09/06/12 at 10:34:55 by Serowbot »  

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
John C
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 09/06/12 at 09:13:00

Yeah, definitely not trying to start anything, but just looking for generic information on a) if there's oil that contain the zddp stuff or b) if not, what two things to use together,and in what ratio (1 quart to one 1 cup or what). Thanks to all.

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #3 - 09/06/12 at 09:19:36