Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
running lean and don't know why (Read 143 times)
Brian
YaBB Newbies

South Carolina
running lean and don't know why
07/13/12 at 07:12:57

So my bike's been running great for the month and a half that ive had it, until this week.  Now keep in mind it's been at least 3 weeks since I've changed anything on the bike, but I'm suddenly running very lean.  My exhaust at the engine and muffler are turning gold and I'm getting bad power surging in 1st and 2nd.  I turned my petcock to prime this morning and it helped but didn't fix the problem. I'm going to pull the petcock to see if it's just clogged.  Any other suggestions?  I'm fairly new to this motorcycle thing.

« Last Edit: 07/13/12 at 16:29:47 by Brian »  
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: running lean and don't know why
Reply #1 - 07/13/12 at 07:18:26

No need to pull it to see if its clogged, just pull the gas line off the carb, point it into a jug & flip it to prime,

Did it start right after you got gas?

Check the vacuum line from carb to petcock,, or, check it the best way, replace it, spend a buck,, yikes!

Look up Serowbots HOw to Test your Petcock post. Its in the Tech forum.

You could run some of the gas thru a coffee filter & see if its cruddy,, cant be Too cruddy, I guess, theres a screen on the petcock,

What year model, & how many miles on it?

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Brian
YaBB Newbies

South Carolina
Reply #2 - 07/13/12 at 07:47:26

It's an '02 with 52xx miles on it.  I fill up at least once a week, so I'm not sure if it started before or after gassing up.  I'm not scared to replace parts, I just prefer to exhaust my free options first.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #3 - 07/13/12 at 08:02:39

Then run the test on the petcock.