Send Topic Print
Kind of a random topic (Read 187 times)
vineman

Oh sweet Ruby how
you tease!

Mid MO
Kind of a random topic
07/11/12 at 22:09:31

Ok, so I know this may be a random question but are there any electrical engineers on here? I have a fairly technical question to ask and thought I'd probe around here for answer.  (of course I'm also asking else where)

2007 ls650 s40, Ruby Red, Nighttrain muffler, pod air filter, 155 main, chain conversion, superbrace fork brace, vista cruise cruise control, and a helluva lotta fun
  IP Logged
rfw2003
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Yantis, TX
Re: Kind of a random topic
Reply #1 - 07/11/12 at 22:17:32

I'm no electrical engineer, but I do know my way around electronics and other electrical projects fairly well.

Just depends on what your asking.

1996 Savage, Corbin Seat, K&N filter, Slip Streamer Enterprise II windshield, LED bullet signals, Cat's eye LED tail light Ryca reverse cone long muffler
  IP Logged
thumperclone
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

PGR rider  riding
with respect

Grand Junction Colorado
Reply #2 - 07/11/12 at 22:18:49

sure you need an engineer??

ask your question you never know Wink

standing for those who stood for US

IP Logged
vineman

Oh sweet Ruby how
you tease!

Mid MO
Reply #3 - 07/11/12 at 22:38:44

OK, bear with me here, i am in no way very electrically adept but I'm always willing to try something once.

I need help in designing a switch that when a device ceases to receive electrical current from a standard 110 wall plug (AC yes?) that device then switches to running off of an internal battery source (DC right?). I know these exist obviously, laptops for example, but if this switch type already has a name I would love to know what it is.

Also, this is for a small scale build. Say utilizing a board about 1" square.

Any questions to clarify what I'm aiming for please ask! Though I may only divulge only so much info as to elude to what I am designing.