Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Stretched cam chain - affects timing? (Read 184 times)
DangRider
Ex Member

Stretched cam chain - affects timing?
07/05/12 at 11:50:12

I've read through many of the posts regarding the cam chain and tensioner.

Verslagen's tensioner can take up more slack, increasing the usable life of the chain, but how much do the stretched links affect the timing of the valves?  Is there power loss, valve fouling because the timing is a little retarded?

I don't mean any offense.  I'm pretty new to motorcycles/engines in general and trying to get edu-ma-cated.

Thanks.

IP Logged
360k+
Serious Thumper

Savage heart of
darkness

Cartersville, GA
Re: Stretched cam chain - affects timing?
Reply #1 - 07/05/12 at 12:03:32

Good question.   My guess is a miniscule amount.  You'd actually have to measure overall chain length on a new chain vs a stretched chain.   The difference  divided 2 (chain is a loop) would probably be proportional to the % of valve offset.   It seems like one thread in here did mention the amount of stretch you could expect to get on a worn out chain.

The JOURNEY is the reward!
  IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Reply #2 - 07/05/12 at 12:16:32

You are correct about timing, but I'd bet it is not much more than theory,........or at least I have never noticed an increase in performance after changing any chain or belt in other applications,......even tho we know that in theroy there had to be some.

Kinda like, if your perfectly flat kitchen table is level in the middle, its impossible to be level nearer the edges  Shocked

Rich
'07 S40 Blvd stocker, except drilled OEM exhaust and white spacer mod...1/2 (.055)
  IP Logged
Cavi Mike
Serious Thumper

Thumper n00b

Rochester, NY
Reply #3 - 07/05/12 at 12:31:07

Maybe a degree but not enough to matter.

IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated