Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Not fun . . . at least I learned something . . . (Read 175 times)
Kyle
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

St. Charles, IL
Not fun . . . at least I learned something . . .
06/13/12 at 20:10:51

So, I'm new here, and not just to the forum. I'm new to riding and motorcycles in general. A little background on me - I've hardly ever turned a wrench in my life. A little background on the bike - 2001 with a few minor issues. One of the issues I've been having was stumbling at WOT or high RPM's and running out of gas and then not being able to fill the tank much. The advice I got here was to run some Seafoam through a few tanks and look at replacing the petcock with a Raptor.

Easy you said . . .

After reading my Clymers like I was studying for a final, reading multiple forum posts, and even watching some Youtube videos about replacing it I decided it was easy enough even for a novice like me!

Bad idea.

Fast forward to tonight's journey... While I have the tank draining into my 2.5 gal gas can I was replacing my air filter. Why 2.5 gallons? Last time I filled it up was with less than 2 gallons and I've driven it since. There's not way it had anywhere near 2 gallons in it.

Next thing I know, gas is running all over my garage floor. Where the hell was all that gas hiding?! After that little hiccup I got the old petcock out and the new Raptor in, put some gas in the tank, small little leak.

"I probably just didn't tighten the bolts down enough," I thought.

Nope. Still leaking. Back to square one.

Drain the tank again, start undoing the bolts, now I have a cascade of gas running down the bike, on me, and on the garage floor again.

Thankfully, I had a 'Just-In-Case' bucket nearby that I was able to catch most of this torrent in.

Get the Raptor out, everything looks fine, gaskets fine, no idea what happened. So I bolted it back in and put some more gas in the tank.