Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
New in town...Shopping! (Read 229 times)
RadioRider
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

New in town...Shopping!
04/30/12 at 14:54:54

Hey all,  Newbie here.  Been lurking awhile, considering buy a new S40.  I currently have a VStar 1300 and a Burgman 400 for around town.  Burgie is supposed to get me about 56 mpg, actually getting about 49.  I'm hoping that the S40 may give me a little more punch around town and maybe, rated @ 63mpg, a little better mileage.
Burgie and S40 have about the same HP&Torque specs, any body have real life comparison?  Also, don't see many folks around here really getting near 60 mpg.  MAybe the qustion is, why do you ride an LS650?

PB050121reduced.jpg
  IP Logged
arteacher
Serious Thumper

Ride as if your
naked and invisable!

London ontario
Re: New in town...Shopping!
Reply #1 - 04/30/12 at 14:58:41

If we were THAT concerned about mileage, we would all ride mo-peds. Wink

white '07, Raask exh, Corbin seat, slipstreamer shie, Raptor, Routy's fwd controls, Baron tach, Frisco bars, Isogrips, Headlight and taillight modulators, Dial-a- jet, AME 9 deg chop kit, K&N air flt
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 04/30/12 at 15:56:39

Isnt that Bergman pretty quick & fun? You gonna keep it? If you can sell it & use the $$ to get a used Savage & have any $$$ left over, you mite consider that,, Whats the maintenance like on it? What are you tire costs & how far do they run?
Spending a few thousand to get 10 MPG,, gonna take a Looong time to pay out.. & if the Savage has any higher maintenance costs,, it will never pay out,

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
ALfromN.H.  FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Dragon Slayer

Rochester, New Hampshire
Reply #3 - 04/30/12 at 16:03:28

Here's a few answers to the question of "why the s40?"