Send Topic Print
Hello from new member (Read 98 times)
lavabeast
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Hello from new member
04/14/12 at 13:05:18

Hello to all. I'm new to the great site you have here. My wife decided she wants her own bike and the S40 seems to be the best one for her. I've been riding for over 20 years but never on an S40. Anything I should look for while shopping for a bike?

IP Logged
Buster

Motul 3000 10w40
Zinc 1407ppm

Oklahoma
Re: Hello from new member
Reply #1 - 04/14/12 at 14:59:45

I'm not one to give advice because I've only had mine for a month, but I don't think you could go wrong with the S40. I wasn't on a bike for over 25 years until I bought mine and I felt comfortable with its controls and handling after only a couple of miles. But the low-end torque did take a little longer to get used to. Love everything about the S40. Good luck finding the right one for you, and welcome.

2015 S40 (Pearl Moon Stone Gray)
OEM Pillow Seat - OEM Windshield

"Some may call this junk. Me, I call them treasures."
  IP Logged
Trippah
Serious Thumper

I ride, therefore I
am.

central Mass
Reply #2 - 04/14/12 at 16:40:41

Great bike if she has no back issues (some backs object to the upright position).  Torque makes if very forgiving.....now she isn't going from the back of a goldwing and planning multi hundred mile rides??

IP Logged
lavabeast
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #3 - 04/14/12 at 17:10:57

No Gold Wing here. The S40 would be just for short trips arond town and such.

IP Logged
teabowl13
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #4 - 04/15/12 at 08:34:15

To answer your question, sort-of, I guess it really depends a lot on what you are looking for. Obviously newer models are more likely to be in better shape; less miles, fewer issues.

Even if you are looking at older, higher mileage bikes, there are very few serious issues related to the Savage, and most of those are easy fixes.