Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Bile Gates is EVIL Incarnate ..... (Read 193 times)
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Bile Gates is EVIL Incarnate .....
11/13/11 at 02:55:14

Gots a story to tell you .....

Despite my better sense shouting  "NO !!   Don't do it"  I tried to fix my Win XP installation on my old white box computer.

Now I am not a computer newbie, I have had Microsoft boxes since they came out with DOS 2.0 and I have reloaded and fixed and scrubbed and recovered and defragged since back when the terms were even invented.

At one time I actually ran a computer repair/refurb company called DOS Compatibles whose bread and butter was slapping 386sx clone motherboards into existing cases for businesses who could get some dollars for "repairwork" but could not get Finance to release a penny to replace an outdated (but still working) PC.

So I "repaired" dozens and dozens of them .....    Wink

Anyhow, I ain't a newbie.   I knew it was gonna be fun, but I did it anyway (against my better judgement as my Linux was working fine).

First, the drive D recovery partition wouldn't come up when you F10'd at boot.   This sorta told me the worm had bitten deep deep into the Microsoft installation and had done its worst.  It had gotten to all the partitions and drives ...

So I went and got my stone cold legal boxed CD copy of XP and tried to boot from it -- and the darn thing wouldn't read.   Not on any machine I own -- the CD disk was bad.

Leave it to Bile to put an hidden age limit on his operating systems disks to make sure you HAVE buy his new windows 7 or 8 or whatever --  Bile SUX, have I ever mentioned that?   I paid over a hundred dollars for that darn disk, and it doesn't work !!!!