Send Topic Print
Tank sealing questions (Read 129 times)
Smokestack

The Devil made me do
it!

The Hammer, Canada
Tank sealing questions
10/30/11 at 08:00:31

So, one of the projects on the docket this winter is to mount a mini speedo and neutral idiot light in a headlight of some kind and lose the dash panel on the stock tank.  I'm okay with the looks and size of the stocker, so I was thinking it might be a good idea to convert the gaping speedo hole into actual fuel space.  I've got a buddy who's a welder by trade, and who's already agreed to TIG it up for me, but I need to know if there is something else that needs to be done to seal a modded tank.

Anyone got any thoughts / ideas / insults to hurl?

Yup, I done some stuff......
  IP Logged
JohnBoy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Tank sealing questions
Reply #1 - 10/30/11 at 10:57:45

Does your buddy have experience rewelding fuel tanks?
I had one welded in the 1970's. The guy had an exhaust line running through the tank the whole time and worked behind a blast shield.
He also charged an arm and a leg.
As for sealing the tank there are a number of aftermarket products out there. Or you can do what I did. I mixed some hot mix fiberglass resin poured enough into the tank to make sure that I got all the surfaces covered and let it drain back out. "Make sure the petcock opening doesn't get plugged" Wink

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 10/30/11 at 11:11:43

Before I went into that Id have a real close look at the volume gained & the cost & hassle of doing it. Its so easy to just decide to do something like that, & later realize just how seriously failing it was in cost  & labor effectiveness.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
arteacher
Serious Thumper

Ride as if your
naked and invisable!

London ontario
Reply #3 - 10/30/11 at 12:33:15

JohnBoy wrote on 10/30/11 at 10:57:45: