bike shutting off. (Read 115 times)
janeezy
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Arizona
bike shutting off.
10/03/11 at 21:56:26

Hello, So I'm new to riding so please bare with me. I recently purchased a new Suzuki S40 and have 125 miles on my bike. (the dealership "lost" the manual I'd be reading it otherwise) Tonight while driving home I was stopped at a light and when I went to go it just died. took forever to get it to start up, it's like it didn't have power. Finally it started up (seemed like forever) and I had to stop again @ a now red light...it died again struggled to start up. Got her going again was doing fine shifting then I had to stop, I wasn't able to get it into 1st gear after I stopped (i hold in the clutch and break then drop the gears down once stopped) then I had to go and it died (pretty sure being in 3rd gear was the reason here. I pulled over check to make sure everything was in order (choke was in, it was on fuel kick stand up) then I stopped again and well it kept shutting off at stops. I verified I was in 1st @ the remaining stops and can't seem to figure out why it's doing this. It also seemed to be struggling on the ride once I got a nice road with all green lights. Thanks so much for any help you can provide. I filled the tank @ 50 miles and the gas light is not on. thx again.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: bike shutting off.
Reply #1 - 10/03/11 at 22:11:10

Welcome to the zoo   Grin

1st, you can download a manual here...
http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?board=tech;action=display;num=1138554254

2nd, there's no 'low fuel light' at least not if it was added this year.

Anytime you have a fuel issue, try it in prime.  You might just need gas.

WWW   IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 10/03/11 at 22:19:16