Jerry Eichenberger
Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Pan Am - the TV show
09/26/11 at 10:09:39

Did anyone watch this opening episode last night?  I enjoyed it a lot.  As a pilot, I saw some technical errors, but not as many as usual for a dramatic show.

I enjoyed the nostalgic look back 50 years ago to the days when people dressed up to fly, treated others with respect, the hair and clothing styles of the early 1960s, etc.  Just a look back at a really neat time, before we all got so angry and worked up about things.

Jerry Eichenberger
Columbus, Ohio
  IP Logged
Midnightrider
Serious Thumper

Alliance Member

Winston Salem, NC
Re: Pan Am - the TV show
Reply #1 - 09/26/11 at 10:54:29

Jerry what network is it on and what time? My Dad retired from Piedmont Airlines, back when an airline cared about the passengers and employees. I remember meeting and talking to Tom Davis (the founder of Piedmont Airlines) several times. The man cared deeply about his employees and their families. My dream in high school was to fly for the military a while and become a pilot for Piedmont. My vision prevented this.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"
  IP Logged
Jerry Eichenberger
Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Reply #2 - 09/26/11 at 11:08:41

Midnight -

ABC at 10 PM Eastern time on Sunday nights.  Too bad it's opposite the football game - I was switching to the game each time the Pan Am show had commecials.

I hope its ratings will be high enough to continue after the new year, when the competition from the ball game ends.

I suppose some feminists will "be offended" ( too dam bad ).  The stewardesses are called just that, not flight attendants.  It was an era when being a steward or stewardess was a respectful description of the job.