Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
How responsible is it to ride? (Read 401 times)
Philip
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

How responsible is it to ride?
08/23/11 at 11:12:51

Hey guys,

I have been riding for about 6 months now and love it. I am married and just found out that we're having a baby and starting to really think about if I should sell my bike or not. I work as a paramedic and every motorcycle accident I work makes me question myself about riding. Its ultimately a personal decision but whats everyone elses input on this?

IP Logged
Boule’tard
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Master of the
Obvious

Austin TX
Re: How responsible is it to ride?
Reply #1 - 08/23/11 at 11:35:37

The answer is going to be different depending on a lot of factors such as:  What kind of riding do you do, at what speeds and distances, in what kind of traffic, and do you wear full gear and have good training/experience, etc.  

Also consider that your overall picture of motorcycling is going to be heavily biased to the negative, because of your job.  Nobody calls the paramedics to inform them that they just had a great ride.

I have two kids and the answer for me is "very responsible, and possibly more responsible than not riding" because riding motorbikes is a thing that keeps me sane and happy, and able to be a good father.

That which can be destroyed by the truth should be. - P.C. Hodgell
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 08/23/11 at 11:37:32