Newbie questions (Read 201 times)
snowdevil
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Greenville SC
Newbie questions
08/14/11 at 06:44:47

Not only am I new to the site, I am new to Savage's as I bought my first motorcycle, a 1997 650 with 6100 miles yesterday. I have a couple questions , first the bike was a stolen recovery. Whoever stole it cut out the ignition switch and replaced it with a rocker switch. I want to replace it back to original for security reasons but I cant seem to find where the original ignition switch mount should be. Secondly, I have read about the tool box.  Is this mounted on the end of the battery box? I have a chrome battery box with a red plate on the end to keep the battery in but nothing else. Ebay have several battery boxes but none with the tool box. The thiefs also pried open the lock on the gas cap. I need to replace it and haven't had any luck on Ebay. Thanks for any help, Brian

Ex-Tomcat Tweek
  IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: Newbie questions
Reply #1 - 08/14/11 at 07:06:43

You need to buy some parts from someone who is breaking up a bike.  Go to the Marketplace and see what is available.   Do not try to buy new parts -- way too expensive.

Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
mmosel
2005 No Login

My bike is
officially THUMPING
now.

NW Oregon
Reply #2 - 08/15/11 at 00:51:32

Also keep your eye on ebay. Sometimes places get a wreck and part it completely out on ebay and you can get things super cheap. I got my new kickstand that way. Paid 9 bucks for it. A week later I saw one for 5 that was just as nice. So keep your eyes there for some things.

IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!

WV
Reply #3 - 08/15/11 at 08:37:12