Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Totally dumb noob question (Read 110 times)
Cloudyday
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Totally dumb noob question
08/12/11 at 19:09:07

OK, I'm new to riding, this is my first bike - had it 4 weeks now and love it.  But I am so new to this stuff I'm still trying to figure out some basic stuff.  So, I apologize for the lameness of this question, and thank you in advance for your patience.

Here goes:  How do I check the pre-load setting on the rear shocks?  And, how do I adjust it if I want to try a different setting?

I've tried reading the owner's manual, but I must be overlooking something because it doesn't make any sense to me at all.  I don't see anything that looks like the little sloping notched thing shown in the diagram at all.  And I can't tell what I'm supposed to do.

Thanks again for your patience.

IP Logged
drums1
Serious Thumper

'87 Savage
Bashed--Down for the
count

Racine, Wisconsin
Re: Totally dumb noob question
Reply #1 - 08/12/11 at 19:30:01

There is a hole in the side of the chrome at the bottom, (I believe) of the shock. I used as big of a phillips screwdriver that would fit in there--or a punch.That whole chrome section will spin. I actually unbolted and removed the top of the shock. (Do 1 side at a time.) It's easier to get it to spin with the weight off.  You will see the notched thing that the peg rests in. The higher the notch, the stiffer the ride. I weigh 250, so mine are on the highest notch, so as not to bottom out on bumps. Good luck.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 08/12/11 at 19:34:05

kinda simple, if you go over a bump and it bottoms out, stiffen it up.

there's a hole in the bottom chrome shield, stick a rod in there and turn it.