Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Noob here: S40 Bobber build idea... (Read 244 times)
SirRadiodude
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Noob here: S40 Bobber build idea...
06/03/11 at 21:49:36

Long set-up for my question... sorry.

I just sold my V-Star 1100 Silverado... great bike, but I don't take trips or get make long rides too often so it was a bit much. I ride primarily for commuter and usually under 10 miles to work each way. I also got it when I was 325lb and now I'm 190lb.

I was considering getting a small 250ish sportbike, but now I after several hours wasted on youtube I am on a small bobber kick. I see these Chinese import 250 bobbers flooding the market at around $2200, but I am not keen on their reliability, resell, replacement part availability. Thats when I discovered folks converting s40s to bobbers. My first bike was a Suzi Marauder (great bike as well) so I've had good luck with the brand. I am loving the lower maintenance of the belt vs. chain. The 650 engine of the S40 seems to have more punch than a 250ish competitor without giving up too much MPG (as far as I've researched). Used S40s seem to be a steal (price VS value) in my area so if I decide bobber, this looks to be where I start.

Well my question... How hard is it to really mod of these bad-boys to bober-like status? Bike compatible with cheap bobber parts?  Frame work well with bobber set-up? I am not fabricator by far but I can tinker with things quite well.  Any suggestions or ideas?

THX!

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Noob here: S40 Bobber build idea...
Reply #1 - 06/03/11 at 22:18:16

Welcome,.. and congrats on that weight loss...
This bike is a great one for personalizing.
Loads of bobbers here,... cafe's, choppers, scramblers, retro's...
Hunt around the site, and steal all the ideas,... then make yer' own,... and we'll steal some of your ideas...