Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
About to jet the carb....JAP phillips?? (Read 263 times)
SHaW0069
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

About to jet the carb....JAP phillips??
05/25/11 at 18:30:02

Hey all!

before i mess around with any of the Phillps screws i see on my bike..
do i need to use a Japanese Phillips screwdriver? especially to extract the screws out....  I personally heard that using my Canadian Phillips screwdriver will strip the heads on them...

if it's true where do i buy such a screw driver? at the local Suzuki bike shop? or Canadian tire? or NAPA or Autozone???

what size of screwdriver am i looking for when dealing with these screws?

thanks i'm a noob!  Cheesy
hehe

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: About to jet the carb....JAP phillips??
Reply #1 - 05/25/11 at 18:33:25

What ever you use, apply enough down force to keep the driver engaged.
They used thread lock so figure on a fight or use penetrating oil.
or a pair of vise grips on the head work great.
just don't break your neck   Grin

WWW   IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Reply #2 - 05/26/11 at 07:25:23

The bowl screws use just a normal phillips driver.
But I didn't even attempt to try to loosen them by hand only. A long driver won't fit. A short driver won't work on the rear screws because the battery box is too close. But I took the reversable bit out of my short driver, put it in the rear screws, then cut a stick to fit between the speedo cable nut and the phillips bit, held strong upward pressure on the phillips bit, then popped them loose w/ a wrench on the driver bit. They were very tight, but it worked fabulous,....so much so, I didn't even bother to replace w/ allen heads.