Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
I just bought a 2002 Savage that needs help (Read 114 times)
johnnymac
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

I just bought a 2002 Savage that needs help
05/07/11 at 15:53:00

Greetings to all from Shawnee OK. I've been riding different bikes for a few years, and I have liked the Suzuki Savage for a long time.  I just got a deal (I think) and brought home a 2002 Savage that needs a little help. It is all there and not torn or dented. I have washed it, and it looks OK but the tank is a little hazy, and could use a good clean up. What would you recommend I use to shine up the tank? No damage other than swirls and haze to the paint, and major crud on the alloy and chrome.

The chrome has a few pits and minor rust on it, and the headlight will have to be painted. It starts and runs, but could use fresh gas and a spark plug. There is a little oil on the fins, and I am thinking I will have to go in there and change the rubber plug in the head.

Thanks to all, nice to see a Savage forum.
John

IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Re: I just bought a 2002 Savage that needs help
Reply #1 - 05/07/11 at 16:31:26

You can get a clay bar in most auto stores thats good for that,There  are different brands of it.

william h krumpen
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 05/07/11 at 16:41:45

Shawnee? I went to school in Tecumseh for almost a year... almost,

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
houstonbofh

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Houston, TX
Reply #3 - 05/07/11 at 18:17:03

Clay bar will remove any garbage on the paint.  But if the paint is shot, you will need rubbing compound and actually cut off the top layer.  Then wax it well.

IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!

WV
Reply #4 - 05/07/11 at 18:43:26