Send Topic Print
Fuel mixture (Read 255 times)
Bernard2011
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Fuel mixture
Reply #15 - 04/17/11 at 05:33:48

I had changed my spark-plug and put in a K&N air filter, now every time I come to a stop my engine stalls.  I should say I can maybe stop once with out a problem, but after I get around the block once or twice it will stall every time I try to come to a stop, not even a complete stop at that and it stalls.  Help please, I am a newbie, and was pleased at my self when I changed the spark-plug.  My savage is a 2003 with less than 10,000 miles.

IP Logged
psi357
YaBB Newbies

Doesn't mater what
you ride, just ride!

Dartmouth, MA
Reply #16 - 04/17/11 at 06:39:09

Bernard2011 wrote on 04/17/11 at 05:33:48:
I had changed my spark-plug and put in a K&N air filter, now every time I come to a stop my engine stalls.  I should say I can maybe stop once with out a problem, but after I get around the block once or twice it will stall every time I try to come to a stop, not even a complete stop at that and it stalls.  Help please, I am a newbie, and was pleased at my self when I changed the spark-plug.  My savage is a 2003 with less than 10,000 miles.

You should start a new thread for a new question, you'll get a lot more attention.  I do not have any Savage experience ......yet  Wink.  I do have bike experience and have always paired a K&N filter with a freer flowing exhaust and bigger jets.  If you just did a K&N filter only, you let in a lot more air and it will throw out your air fuel ratio making you lean.  You MAY get away with adjusting you air fuel screw but I'm not sure.  I'd post a new thread and someone with the actual experience can give you a definite answer.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #17 - 04/17/11 at 07:43:18

Bernard2011 wrote on 04/17/11 at 05:33:48:

If your carb is tuned right, turn up the idle speed.