Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 7
Send Topic Print
Savage Scrambler Build (Read 3997 times)
mpnoffi

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Memphis
Re: Savage Scrambler Build
Reply #15 - 03/15/11 at 18:19:12

Oooo.  That sucks.  I just ordered a 16t front sprocket last night.  I also ordered a 52 rear and got a message today that it was out of stock...so back to the drawing board.  I knew that there would be a lot of hit and miss on this project as I've never built a bike like this before.  My plan is to get as close to "good" as possible, and cruise on it while I figure some real mods out to make it a real paved road/gravel road rocket.  I think that when we figure out what the right recipie is, these bikes will prove to be a great platform for this type of conversion as they are light, torquey, efficient and stone ax reliable.

So...do you see any work around for the swing arm interference short of building a new one from scratch and moving the mounting points?  Keep in mind that by adding the 18 rear rim, that I will have to add (or substract I guess) 9.5% to the final ratio.  I was shooting for close to stock with the 16/52 combo and the 18" rim allowing me to change the front sprocket to 15t front for shorter gearing needs and a 17t front for long interstate rides.   Any ideas?

BurnPgh wrote on 03/15/11 at 12:41:58:
mpnoffi wrote on 03/14/11 at 22:52:23:
Hi all.  I have been lurking for a while now and thought that I would add a bit instead of just taking.  I've learned a ton about these great bikes over the last 6 months or so from reading the info you guys have added here over the years...so...thanks for that.  I have to say, that I belong to several forums, but none have a better crew of guys (and gals).