Send Topic Print
got a new bike (Read 419 times)
kingart3
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: got a new bike
Reply #15 - 02/10/11 at 16:19:54

If you have been driving around on the Yamaha, I don't think you will have any problems.  Before I got mine, (also an 09), I had been riding a 250 cc Chinese scooter for 3 years, BUT, had not been on a regular motorcycle in 20+.  I had no problems and I would not say I was the master of balance, quick reflexes or any other good things like that.

At around 400 lbs, its light and handles very easily.  The clutch is butter soft and 1st gear is low enough I almost never stall.  Back when I had a Yamaha 400 twin, a 650 was a BIG bike, so I was a little concerned when I first got on it.  Turns out there were no problems, its a very Sweet Ride.

Have fun,

-Hal

IP Logged
chickenwingsmmm
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #16 - 02/11/11 at 18:22:54

Just took it for its maiden voyage, 10 miles in the freezing cold. My only complaints is the exhaust is too quiet, handlebars and pegs are a smidgen too close for me, and the speedo is mounted on the tank so I had to look down to see my speed. Overall I am very happy with my purchase though and think I got a great bike at a great value.

IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!

WV
Reply #17 - 02/11/11 at 19:19:50

Congrats on the bike.  We like pictures... hint, hint...   Wink

Concerning the kill switch and such...  I personally like using the kill switch.  After I left the key on all night once, I got into the habit of pulling the key half way out (parked in the garage, so I don't take the key completely out).  I find doing the same thing every time is easiest.

Exhaust -- there are a few mods if you search this site.  Drill the stock one (carefully) or replace with a Harley Dyna which can be found cheap at local HD shops or Ebay or such.