kick start (Read 907 times)
thespot413
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

WMASS, MA
kick start
02/06/11 at 13:00:46

Ive been messing around with the idea of turning my bike into a kick start. I had  67 BSA and loved the fact that i had to kick it over every time i got on her. Anyone have any experience/any idea how much it would suck?

IP Logged
engineer
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: kick start
Reply #1 - 02/06/11 at 13:16:26

I too enjoy the old kickstart motorcycles.  I have kick started 750cc twins, no problem but in those old twins each cylinder was much smaller than the one big cylinder on the S40 and only one was in its' compression cycle on each revolution.

I am no expert on the S40 but from what I have read it would be a major job to kick start it.  With that one big 650cc piston in compression it would be roughly twice as hard as kicking over a sixties vintage 650 cc Triumph Bonneville (well almost, the Bonnie had higher compression).

If you make some sort of conversion I would certainly like to read about it.

2005 S40, Intruder shocks, Dyna, 52.5/150, 3 washers, 2 turns, modified seat, Raptor
  IP Logged
sluggo
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

big singles lead,
twins follow the
pack

moses lake washington
Reply #2 - 02/06/11 at 13:54:48

my old gn400 was a kick start, if you didn't do it properly it would send you over the handlebars or sprain  an ankle,  kick start, yeah right, lets bring back the crank start auto's.   Cool

SINGLES RULE, HARLEYS DROOL

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 02/06/11 at 14:25:25

thespot413 wrote on 02/06/11 at 13:00:46:
Ive been messing around with the idea of turning my bike into a kick start. I had  67 BSA and loved the fact that i had to kick it over every time i got on her. Anyone have any experience/any idea how much it would suck?

Oh yeah, there's a great mod.  search back a couple of years and you might find it.