Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Windhield (Read 270 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Windhield
11/26/10 at 18:42:37

What brand of winshield do you have?  Does it protect you pretty well?

Thanks!

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Re: Windhield
Reply #1 - 11/26/10 at 18:46:39

Its more the size than brand for protection.

william h krumpen
  IP Logged
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Reply #2 - 11/26/10 at 18:48:56

What's the right size then for a 5'11" guy?  Everything else is standard on the bike.

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Reply #3 - 11/26/10 at 18:53:10

As big as you can get,I've always had big ones and you still need to adjust them to get the best coverage,My first windshield,Almost 40 years ago was a small one and all it did was put more air in your face. I'm only 5' 6 "

william h krumpen
  IP Logged
Boofer
Serious Thumper

Nearly too old.

N Ms
Reply #4 - 11/26/10 at 19:58:37

My Savage came with a Slipstreamer Spitfire. I dropped it and broke it. Ordered another one for around $60. I am 6' and it dumps the air over the top, but doesn't buffet my head with 3/4 open helmet and full flip up flat face shield. (Not bubble shield) I would guess that the windshield is only about 2" below the bottom of my face shield. It needs to sit on top of the headlight to avoid wind wiggle. Installs in minutes with allen wrench included. Angle of windshields should be close to angle of fork tubes. Suits me. May not suit you. I like the idea of small windshields. Lower drag=more speed.