Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Engine sputters and stalls when warm (Read 403 times)
savage_girl
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Engine sputters and stalls when warm
10/09/10 at 13:59:25

Good afternoon,

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice about a problem I'm having with my Savage.  I bought a 1999 Suzuki Savage about three months ago.  It ran fine the first couple of weeks.  After that, it would start up fine, but once the engine got warmed up, it idles very rough and the engine dies unless the throttle is constantly forced.  It does not start back up right away after the engine stalls, usually I have to wait at least 15 to 20 minutes before it will start up again.

At first, I thought it was the carbs.  I'm not a mechanic, so I took the motorcycle to the Suzuki dealership. They took the carb off and told me that was fine, the problem was the aftermarket muffler that was installed on the bike.   He wanted me to spend 500 for a new stock muffler and he would put it on the bike.  I did not want to spend that much, so I ended up getting a muffler from a junkyard Savage.  It was a stock muffler and pipe, the only thing was that it was gutted.  He put it on and I took it home.  I'm still having the same problem, the mechanic told me to try adjusting the idle RPMs.  I did, still stalling after the engine warms up.  He still insists that the muffler is the problem, but I'm not sure if that is the problem.  Could that be the problem since it is gutted or should I check something else?  It only sputters and stalls once the engine is warm, runs like a charm when the engine is cold.  Please keep in mind, I'm a beginner motorcyclist and I'm not a mechanic.  My roommate is a bit more knowledgeable about motorcycles and can help but he is far from a mechanic himself.