Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
first long trip question? (Read 359 times)
Arnold
Serious Thumper

The dude abides...

Westchester, NY
Re: first long trip question?
Reply #15 - 09/09/10 at 07:17:06

Which brings a question to my mind as well.

I have the Clymer manual, I'm not a mechanic but fairly handy with my tools. Can I do the valves adjustment myself or should I bring to the shop? How easy/hard is it? And how much does your shop charges you? I have a year of free maintenance with my bike, is valve job included in that maintenance typically?

IP Logged
mornhm - FSO
Serious Thumper

HMMM

Reply #16 - 09/09/10 at 07:33:37

Interesting thread with a lot of topics going on.

First comment, valves need adjusting if you want your engine to be reliable, and run as well as can be expected. Maintenance needs to be done - things wear, adjustments change, things break down (I'm talking oil, plastics, surfaces) etc., etc.
Second comment, the savage - and most other MCs in good mechanical condition will outlast their riders on long trips. In other words if you've kept up with the maintenance and things are running well there is no reason to expect trouble just because you string miles together. Yes, "sh_t happens," but you aren't going to prevent it by doing something randomly (which, imho adjusting valves just because you are going on a trip falls under).
Third if you know how to use all the tools needed for a given maintenance job you won't have any trouble with the Savage. A lot of people say they are fairly handy with "their" tools, which if you are talking about mechanics tools, that is pertinent to working on a Savage, if you are talking about wood turning gouges, not so much, if your tools are the techniques you learned for interviewing in college, not at all.

IP Logged
prechermike
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Kalashna Kitty, from
Skat

Ponzer, NC
Reply #17 - 09/09/10 at 09:37:57