Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
I'm a total idiot! (Read 528 times)
ero4444

weekender

Re: I'm a total idiot!
Reply #15 - 07/15/10 at 08:50:13

jimsgirl, mine is my first bike and when I started riding it seemed like a good idea to lock the forks.   But FYI the fork lock is puny, somewhat easily broken and sometimes sticky, and the bike is so light that two thieves can throw it on back of a truck and it's gone anyway.  

Fortunately the bike is so inexpensive that thieves don't care to steal it, and that is partially why our insurance cost is so low.

So if you really want to immobilize the bike, you need a sturdy bike chain like the OnGuard - http://www.amazon.com/OnGuard-Rottweiler-5025-Bicycle-Armored/dp/B000FL1BHU/r... - or a disk lock - that has its own risks if you forget to take it off.  

Now with a few miles under me, the bike security has become less important.

c2001, 3800miles, 3rd owner, adjusted idle, raised seat, Tkat brace, Raptor petcock, cleaned carb, replaced some jets, Dyna muffler, Fiamm horns, Shinkos, future Ed L. forward controls, fork boots.
  IP Logged
prechermike
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Kalashna Kitty, from
Skat

Ponzer, NC
Reply #16 - 07/15/10 at 09:26:07

ero,
I'm with you.  When I first got my bike I would use the fork lock, but after forgetting to unlock it before I started the bike, that got old quick.  I used to worry about leaving my helment on the bike when I went inside, I would lock it to the bike with a padlock (the helment lock is under the saddlebags), take it in with me, carry it around, get someone at a desk to watch it, etc.  Sometimes I do take it with men, but now I realize no one wants my old stinky helment.
So bike security has become less important. Wink

2006, HD pipe, Tkat fork brace, elkhide handgrips, gel seat w/riser, silverblue, Ed L's forward controls, Wristwatch, biblethumper650@gmail.com
prechermike   IP Logged
Oldnewguy

thumpin' along!