Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newcomer to the Sport (Read 112 times)
Wake51

Murphy's Law

St. Louis
Newcomer to the Sport
06/30/10 at 23:22:17

Evening folks. I'm brand new to the sport, and as I'm sure many of you are delighted to know I'm starting off on a Savage. Picked up a 2001 model used off of Craigslist. She's a real beauty, had 5,000 miles on her and was kept in show room condition.

I'm 20 and a college student at the University of Missouri. I got introduced to the sport by my brother has been into the sport since he was old enough to keep a bike upright using his tippy toes as well as some of my friends who discovered this sport a couple years back.

I searched for the right back at the right price until I was blue in the face. I just hauled the new girl home a couple days ago but it's been a  blast ever since. Granted I've been restricted to parking lots getting used to getting a good solid feel of the clutch, taking off, breaking, turning, and other safety procedures. I'm of course going to take the Motorcycle Safety Course before the day comes that I hit the actual road. But just learning in the parking lot has been a real blast.

The most fun has come from reflecting at home about what I've learned. I've nearly dropped the bike once practicing slow turns, I hesitated when starting a sharp turn from simply not feeling comfortable with the bike yet. Managed to salvage it with barely a scratch to the right peg. Gotta get that first one out of the way at some point right?  Wink Just an excuse to do another 5-10 minutes of figure eights to make sure you don't end on a bad note!

Just wanted to introduce myself and get some of the excitement off the chest. I'm looking to make sure I take every step with safety having the up most priority. I have to admit, I'm a little nervous being brand new to the sport. But I'm sure that will melt away with experience. Just trying to keep the rubber side down!

IP Logged
Hashbrown

What can brown do
for you!

Nashua, NH