Send Topic Print
Rear brake squeal (Read 188 times)
n1jdu
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rear brake squeal
06/22/10 at 04:50:27

I haven't ridden my '04 Savage in a year (or two), but recently put it back on the road Smiley

As soon as I started riding it I remembered that my rear brake squeals .. every time it is applied strong enough to make a difference in my speed. This was the case when I stopped riding, but when the bike was "new" it was fine. I don't remember when the squeal started but the bike has 11k miles on it.

The other day .. approaching a stop .. I applied the brakes and instead of the 'normal' squeal there was a *very* loud squeal .. almost like something was broke/breaking ... but now .. THE SQUEAL IS GONE!

My question: what causes squeal on drum brakes .. and why would it go away suddenly like that?

IP Logged
spacepirates
Serious Thumper

Igni Ferroque

Pittsburgh, PA
Re: Rear brake squeal
Reply #1 - 06/22/10 at 09:53:27

well, i'm not 100% sure about your case, but it is my understanding that most squeals are caused by debris in the brake.

so i guess it is *possible* that when you applied your brakes hard it cleared the debris out. i sometimes use that trick when i know i've got dirt or whatnot in my front brakes.

on the other hand, it could be that your pads were low and scraping against the metal on the brake shoe, and that you just busted the hell out of them.

but, like i said, not too sure. i've never had the guts to dive into the drum brake, despite having replacement pads ready and all...

--
Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.
  IP Logged
n1jdu
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 06/22/10 at 10:47:21

Thanks for the reply. However I did not apply "hard" breaking when I heard the loud noise. I was on a city street at less than 30 mph, and as soon as I heard the noise I let up on the rear brake (and finished the stop with the front)

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad