Send Topic Print
Battery Breathe Tube (Read 109 times)
Aggie10
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Battery Breathe Tube
06/08/10 at 21:09:09

Is the battery breathe hose necessary? I purchased my savage used and being a newb i made the mistake of leaving it in the P position and that drained my battery dead.  so i went to Wal-mart to pick up the same exact battery as was in there before, however the battery's breathe tube was on the other side ( left side) it wasn't until I got home from putting the new battery in my bike that i realized that the previous owner had cut the left side flush so it would fit in the battery case.  i was considering doing the same but i figured i'd ask here first.  Any advice?

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Battery Breathe Tube
Reply #1 - 06/08/10 at 21:14:16

Just cut a notch in the left side of the battery box and run the tube on that side,... I did...
Without it you may dribble acid...  that's never cool... Huh...
I don't have a CU photo, but you can just see the tube here... very discreet... Wink...

« Last Edit: 06/08/10 at 22:25:33 by Serowbot »  

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 06/08/10 at 21:30:49

battery drain tube should hang down so any acids won't drip on the bike.

WWW   IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #3 - 06/09/10 at 02:48:37

& NEVER use a grinder in a manner that would toss the sparks near that vent tube. I made my battery crack its case & spew acid around. Sounded about like a 22 going off.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Aggie10
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #4 - 06/09/10 at 03:50:13

How would you recommend cutting this notch?

IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!