Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Southern New England Savage Wrenchers/Mechanics? (Read 133 times)
CaramelQT

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

RI
Southern New England Savage Wrenchers/Mechanics?
06/03/10 at 21:42:32

I was wondering if there are any southern New Englanders(RI, MA, CT), that could assist me with wrenching on my 2004 Savage? No worries, I am not asking for 100% free help. I have some mechanical ability and not afraid to get my hands dirty, just lack the confidence to mess with the engine alone.  

I am new to bikes, somewhat new to the area and having a hardtime finding someone trustworthy to work on my bike.  Or if you can point me to a honest mechanic that could help me out, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

IP Logged
jef.savage
Serious Thumper

ridin' n slidin'

Boston, MA
Re: Southern New England Savage Wrenchers/Mechanic
Reply #1 - 06/04/10 at 06:29:07

I'm in Boston.  I'm no mechanic but I'm learning as I go.  Let me know what kind of work you're thinking of.

IP Logged
CaramelQT

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

RI
Reply #2 - 06/04/10 at 19:10:55

I have a 2004 Savage with +4K miles.  I was looking to adjust the valves/retorquing the head.  I'm also going to need new tires soon, & probably put on back brakes while the wheels are off.  Taking the rear wheel off and back on, putting the belt back on correctly also concerns me.

I'm noticing some topend noise & starting to become paranoid about riding.  Perhaps purchasing and installing the Verslavy.

IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Reply #3 - 06/04/10 at 19:16:46

I wouldn't start taking it a part jap bike are good for a lot of miles,some have went 50000 miles with the s40 with no problems.The back brakes can be good for 30000 miles.

william h krumpen
  IP Logged
jef.savage
Serious Thumper

ridin' n slidin'

Boston, MA
Reply #4 - 06/04/10 at 19:51:34