Grinding when shifting (Read 365 times)
groupus

Maintenance is as
much art as it is
science.

PA
Re: Grinding when shifting
Reply #15 - 06/01/10 at 12:51:22

i'm no expert but here's my opinion: the way a motorcycle transmission works is different from a car's. motorcycles are "constant mesh", meaning that all gears are spinning at the same time. instead of the gears sliding to engage, a set of "dogs" on a plate slide into holes on the gear to engage that gear to the output shaft.

image taken from http://www.vf750fd.com/blurbs/shifting.html

so basically, the gears don't grind, the dogs do. your dogs could be worn out, in which case you should give them some water and a treat and a nap  Grin
or your holes could be elongated/beveled, and if that's the case, you should see a doctor  Shocked

honestly, this is probably worst case scenario, but unlikely. worth considering though and would explain the grinding sound. also if you clutch doesn't completely disengage, it would explain the grinding between 1 & 2. it will try to go into neutral between them. if the idle/engine speed is too high, it would be hard to shift out of neutral from a stop (high engine speed can't match low road speed), as the little dogs would skip over the holes too fast to engage.

lots to consider. GOOD LUCK!

Faster, faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death. ~Hunter Thompson

'03 Savage bobber. Rebuilt too many times.
  IP Logged
brianjkirk
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #16 - 06/01/10 at 17:43:47

I had the same issue on my recently purchased 2003 with about 7000 miles.  It would grind whenever shifting from first->second, usually settling in neutral, so I'd have to shift twice.  During inspection, the shop said they adjusted the linkage rod.  It's a bit better now, but not nearly as easy to shift as my old Honda.  Shifting between other gears is not a problem.  I'm thinking to adjust the shifting link further, maybe another spline.