87 cant get it started (Read 61 times)
aphico
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

87 cant get it started
05/26/10 at 19:18:06

hello all,  

I bought an 87 from a guy for 200.00,  it's missing  the starter, and solenoid and the shifter foot peg is missing and the right mirror is broken.  Everything else is there and it's in really good shape,  Put it this way,  i waxed it already   I charged the battery, and bolted the solenoid wires together,  tried to catch it in gear,  but no luck.  I would like to get the motor running,  just to see if it taps or raps, smokes or anything before putting any money into it.  It felt like it was locked up, but when i take the plug out,  it rolled and sounded like it had compression.  I'm brand new to this bike,  and have read that there is a compression release?  have no idea where it is,  i've also read that there are safety's at the kick stand, and clutch?    

I would appreciate any advice/tips/tricks to get this thing going temporarily until i can get a starter and solenoid  I put both battery wires together, and both solenoid wires together.  the battery took a good charge and stayed at 12.9 all night.   It seems it won't roll, even on a pretty steep hill in high gear?   so again any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: 87 cant get it started
Reply #1 - 05/26/10 at 19:32:48

You can push start, but it's tough getting it over the 1st rev.
which is what the decomp solenoid does when you push the start button.
if you push the start button do you hear a click right under the tank?
if so (hope you don't have the starter lead dangling against the case or frame), you can use that to make it easier.

push it up to speed, throw it in 2nd if that works for you.
push the button and the decomp will activate for 1/2 second.
immediately let out the clutch, you may have to play with timing to get it right.