NEWB!!! (Read 371 times)
Edgar

Are you a lucky
little lady in the
city of light?

San Diego
NEWB!!!
05/04/10 at 01:39:09

Hi guys, im a newb on here and to owning a bike! I just bought my first motorcycle on thursday. Its an 86 savage. I dont even know how to ride yet, so its going to be a fun adventure! but after taking it for a spin around my cul de sac, i decided i want to clean the carb, replace the spark plug, and change the oil. Just so i can have the peace of mind that its all fresh in there. So far Ive found great guides on the carb and oil change in the tech section but havent found something for the spark plug, any help on that would be great! But the main reason im posting is because after starting the bike up and getting the fuel running through theres a gas leak at the bottom! i dont know what the hose is called but its leaking and when i squeeze it, it leaks faster. Any thoughts on how to stop this??? this seems to be the only issue with the bike

heres the bike

And heres the valve thats leaking (i know ive got a lot of cleaning to do!)

thanks for any help

Stay Frosty.
  IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: NEWB!!!
Reply #1 - 05/04/10 at 01:47:40

From the position, it is likely to be a dump tube.  

If it is clear plastic it is the battery dump tube and is supposed to be open at all times.  

If it it black it is supposed to have a plug in the end of it and it traces back to the air box (you pop the plug out at every oil change to let the oily ooze drain out of the air box).

Which tube is it?   Where does it go to?  And is it really gasoline leaking from it?

Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Reply #2 - 05/04/10 at 05:53:09