Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Kickstand saftey switch (Read 315 times)
mikelhsr1982

Who turned up the
heat

WV
Kickstand saftey switch
04/18/10 at 09:44:50

Im new to the savage community.  Im building a bobber and am wondering if I have to have the kickstand saftey switch or the switch that runs to the clutch lever.  Or is there a bypass for these?  Any help will me much appreciated.

mikelhsr1982 mikelhsr1982   IP Logged
dasch
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Kickstand saftey switch
Reply #1 - 04/18/10 at 09:53:05

Here:

http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1262917566/1#1

Bobbert did a fine job demystifying the harness.

IP Logged
Charon
Serious Thumper

Harvard, NE
Reply #2 - 04/18/10 at 14:19:15

Be aware that removing or disabling safety circuits is a BAD IDEA.

Eschew obfuscation.

IP Logged
T Mack 1 - FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

sold 2001 LS650 for
a 1986 XLH1100

Emmaus,Pa
Reply #3 - 04/18/10 at 17:44:31

The clutch safety switch is a good thing.    Being able to start the bike in gear without the clutch lever pulled in has a bunch of high risk "oop's".   It is possible using a foglight relay to set it up so that if the neutral light is on the switch is bypassed.    

Kickstand switch is debateable.  If you bypass it and drive off with the stand down, first left corner you take you'll knock it up, but if that turn is tight leaner, it might cause a momentary bump/jerk in the bike.

Engineers design things, Technicians make them work.
---
30% of being mechanical is confidence/30% is knowing to go slow when needed/30% is looking repeatedly at what you have/10% is dumb luck Wink
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #4 - 04/18/10 at 22:57:47

T Mack 1 - FSO wrote on 04/18/10 at 17:44:31: