CARB UPGRADE??? (Read 280 times)
jlsmedic

LIVE HARD RIDE
HARD.....LIVE YOUR
LIFE

Red Rock, AZ
CARB UPGRADE???
03/16/10 at 02:43:12

I have a stock 2008 s40 carb. I am very interested in changing the jetting on it except i dont know which jet set to buy, and if ill be over my head trying to re-adjust everything. I worked as a mechanic and im very inclined as a mechanic, but sometimes dont know where to start or stop.  any suggestions???

IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Re: CARB UPGRADE???
Reply #1 - 03/16/10 at 05:02:47

There is a LOT of good how-to info in the tech section on carb tuning, jetting, etc. This carb is easy to work on and does not take much time to become familiar with it.  You can do it.
Jetting will depend on your exhaust choice primarily.  We can offer suggestions for starting the process, then you go with what the engine likes.   Ride it and see how it responds ... you know.  Since you have done mech work before it will come to you quickly.  The basic principles are the same with any engine .  Fortunately, this one is 1 cyl, 1 carb, 1 exhaust pipe/muff and not many parts.  And everything is right there in front of you. .. makes it easier...

JETSETS are $21.95;  if you wish info just PM me

IP Logged
jlsmedic

LIVE HARD RIDE
HARD.....LIVE YOUR
LIFE

Red Rock, AZ
Reply #2 - 03/16/10 at 05:39:18

well last week i bought a dyna exaust and it very much eliminated the sputtering/backfiring and what little bit it does, doesnt bother me any more. It did blue my new exaust a little but that is what has led me to the carb. I know i need a jet kit but not shure which one. I think I need a stage two kit and ive read the info in the tech section (good info) but still a little confused on which kit to buy?

IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Reply #3 - 03/16/10 at 06:53:22